It’s just siliness

American Express will be presenting a live stream music show this Sunday April 28th in New York City. This is their fourth year doing this and I had no idea that this event even existed. They get really cool bands to play too; this year’s show will feature Vampire Weekend and they have chosen Steve Buscemi will be kicking off the performance. Amex partnered up with VEVO and YouTube, where people will be able to watch the live stream on Sunday via the YouTube website or the VEVO mobile app. You can also watch the awesome promotional videos that Amex has released featuring Steve Buscemi and the members of Vampire Weekend discussing Easter while they paint their Easter eggs. There’s also a video where Steve Buscemi asks Grimes if she will be attending the Vampire Weekend show on Sunday and she turns him down, it’s awkward and hilarious.

Here’s the whole series of videos, I promise they’re fun

I really liked the concept behind these promo videos and I actually replayed them and I even showed them to my friends because I thought they were really funny. If these videos had shown typical interviews with the artists or if they had used clips of past concerts, they would have turned out extremely dull. Having Steve Buscemi was also a big win, after all, who doesn’t love the guy, he’s freaking hilarious. The “we’re cool and hip and you’re not” thing might be overdone but I think that they really made it work in this case. The Vampire Weekend dudes were able to show their quirky personalities and Steve Buscemi was this usual weird (but awesome) self. I’ve really enjoyed the advertising for Amex in the past years, both print ads and videos. Amex’s advertising is especially good at using celebrities in a really smart way, which I think is hard to pull off after seeing other brands and their use of celebrities. I’ll be tuning in this Sunday to “American Express Unstaged” in hopes of listening to some of Vampire Weekend’s new stuff.

About flufflebob

Roberta Arriaga - adv & psy student at ut austin

Leave a comment