8tracks

Most people would probably agree that music is a form of creative expression. I definitely agree with that. But since I’m not musically inclined in any way, the best way I can express myself through music is by creating playlists.

A playlist has to have balance and cohesiveness in order to fulfill its purpose. Playlists are created around a specific mood or occasion or activity. It’s different than just listening to one artist though. There must be diversity in a playlist, but still a connection between each song that ties them all together letting them work together in the same track list.

I take pride in the playlists that I create, and I love using 8tracks.com to publish them and let others enjoy them too. 8tracks is a great site because sometimes I’m in the mood to work out or draw or go for a drive, but I don’t have to time to set up the perfect playlist before I begin. This is where 8tracks becomes a clutch tool for finding great jams for any occasion. You have the option to browse through most popular, recently uploaded, etc, but you can also “explore”. When you explore 8tracks, the site prompts you with “Play me some…” then you choose from a list of categories such as “spring”, “chill”, “pop”, “study”, “electronic”, etc, etc. Then once you choose, it prompts you again. So if I chose “chill”, then it would say “Play me some chill + _____”, and you choose another word to complement the first word. So when I choose “happy”, 8tracks generates a list of user-uploaded playlists that are described as “chill+happy” for all those happy, chill times, like say, on a Sunday afternoon.

So next time you need some background noise or theme music for your Sunday afternoon, check out 8tracks for the perfect playlist solution. Or better yet, next time you’re bored, get on the site and try compiling some playlists of your own and see how people enjoy them. You never know, you could be the next big hit DJ.

Leave a comment